The logo for the Waste Commission depicts the beautiful Rocky Mountain of Alberta and the traditional recycling logo for Waste Management. Coordinating solid waste disposal in Mountain View County. Collecting household and commercial waste in Mountain View County. Waste Transfer Stations are utilized by residents of Mountain View County in Central Alberta.
Home | About Us | Recycling Centres | Transfer Sites | Landfill | Resource Recovery Centre | Compost | Contacts | Resources
Mountain View Regional Waste Management Commission
Frequently asked by our customers are rates for recycling and waste collection, when the Eco-Sites are open, how to locate our centres and where the dump is.
Hours of Operation
Commission Library
Recycling Tips
User Guides & News
Photo Gallery

Residents are asked to recycle milk jugs and cartons, cardboard, mixed paper, newspaper, clear glass, tin cans, motor oil and filters, electronics. Don't forget to take your bottles and drinking boxes to the Bottle Depot in your community.
The Mountain View Regional Waste Management Commission works in the municipalities within Mountain View County, including Carstairs, Cremona, Didsbury, Olds, and Sundre. We also have operations in the rural communities of Water Valley and Eagle Hill.
Eagle Hill
Mtn View County
Water Valley

Recycling Tip: These waste items can be modified and used for planting seedlings: egg cartons, tetra-pak cartons, plastic bottles, plastic takeaway containers, the cardboard centres from toilet rolls, and ice cream containers.
Our Mission:
To provide an integrated waste management service through education, environmental protection, and waste removal for the citizens and businesses within the region.

Our Vision:
To limit the impacts on land, air and water within the region through collective partnerships to reduce, reuse, recycle, and recover waste.

The logo for the Waste Commission depicts the beautiful Rocky Mountain of Alberta and the traditional recycling logo for Waste Management. Our Values:

  • Customer Service
  • Transparency and Due-diligence
  • Environmental Stewardship
  • Fiscal Responsiblity
  • Teamwork
  • Safe Work Environment
  • Continuous Education
  • Risk Management


  • Meet or exceed all regulatory requirements placed upon the commission by government mandates
  • Marketing and education on 4Rs
  • To have all stakeholders full and active
  • Annual reviews of fee schedules and policies
  • Improve and update services
  • Marketing strategies

The Commission is managed by a Board of Directors who are appointed each year by the respective municipal councils. The member municipalities consist of:

  • Town of Olds
  • Town of Sundre
  • Town of Carstairs
  • Town of Didsbury
  • Village of Cremona
  • Mountain View County

The Commission is independent of the member municipalities. It operates with a permanent CAO. The financial records are maintained under contract agreement through Mountain View County administration.

Living sustainably means living smarter.
Help reduce our impact on the environment.

Website design and maintenance by Windsor Graphics